Bank Holidays – France – Public Holidays 2011

2011 Jours fériés – French Bank or Public holidays*

New Year’s Day Saturday 1 January
Easter Sunday Sunday 24 April
Easter Monday Monday 25 April
Labour Day Sunday 1 May
WW 11 Victory Day Sunday 8 May
Ascention Day Thursday 2 June
Pentacost – Whit Sunday Sunday 12 June
Whit Monday Monday 13 June
Bastille Day Thursday 14 July
Assumption Day Monday 15 August
All Saints’ Day Tuesday 1 November
Armistice Day Friday 11 November
Christmas Day Sunday 25 December

*If you’re planning a trip to France it’s a good idea to check to see what days are bank or public holidays.

Small supermarkets and bakeries will usually be open for a few hours and restaurants will usually be open. Real estate agencies will be closed for the most part, so will banks and offices and most shops.

If a holiday – other than Easter Sunday and Whit Sunday – falls on a Sunday it is celebrated on the following Monday.

When a holiday falls on a Thursday (or Friday) many people people take the extra time off to have a long weekend – faire le pont. It’s especially true of small businesses, even some real estate office.

This entry was posted in Living and working in France, Travel. Bookmark the permalink.